Sparkling Springs 2013

It’s hard for me to admit that my immediate family now needs a “reunion” to come together, but I think we have actually reached that stage. For me “reunions” were always places to meet your second and third cousins, wear a nametag, look at old black and white photos of your ancestors, and eat a huge potluck. Now, it’s where I finally see all my siblings and nieces and nephews in one place at one time! When we left for Thailand in 2006, there were four cousins- Claire, Dara, Eliza, and Lydia.  That was the last time we were all together. Now there are 15! At the reunion, we had 14 littles since Lila hadn’t made her appearance yet.  It was a short time for such an epic event but it was truly wonderful. I wish I  could describe how it felt but simply “emotional” was probably as close as I can get. I left feeling a lot more connected and glad for more family times to come in the next two years.  I really love my big family!

DSC_0561 DSC_0568 DSC_0573 DSC_0591 DSC_0605

Grandaddy and Grandmom’s treasure hunt. A Rhodes family classic. DSC_0627

Many of the adults planned a kid’s activity, so they got to do sponge painting, create doll houses, decorate cupcakes, go on a treasure hunt, etc.
DSC_0632 DSC_0639

Claire loved all the time she got to spend with her littlest cousins.DSC_0644 DSC_0647

Family gatherings would not be complete without the Uncle Philip conga line and “In That Day.”

DSC_0652

 

Leave a Reply

