Life is a Highway (one version)

It’s a quiet Friday here. Tom went off to teach in the city and Claire went for her sewing lesson with our team mate Lynn. Eliza and I are making granola, baking pumpkins and making pumpkin seeds. Silas has his baseball cap on and is hitting some balls. I heard him singing Life Is A Highway (Rascal Flatts version) and I thought I would write down the words as he sings them for posterity. (note his explanations too- very enlightening to see what he actually thinks he is singing about). There are some holes where he left out chunks of lyrics. Actual lyrics follow his if you want to compare.

LIFE IS A HIGHWAY (with Silas words)

Mmmmm rrrr road to travel on

One thing heng the next thing long

Sometimes you bend

Sometimes you stand

Sometimes you turn your back to the land

The world back there a darkened door

Where birds don’t don’t dunk-cha any more (explanation: You in swimming in a swimming pool and black birds dunk you)

Where the brave are be

And operating to distant shore (explanation: a long land that you can’t go and crabs are there and shrimp)

There’s a road that I can’t hold

There’s a road that this I know

We have tane to drive down the garden lane (explanation: like a chain to cars so they can’t drive).

Life is a highway

I want to drive in it all night long

If you going my way

Well I want to drive in it all night long

All these cities and all these days

It’s all around

I love now

These are the hens (explanation: when the hens are doing something special with their eggs. The baby eggs are hatching!)

From Mozam to the Niphis nice cool slass cloose lice.

Never sore! (like a shot you have to get. OUCH)

Believe in the distant shore.

Tell em that we’re bobbies!!! (Bobbies are like little balls that shoot you ).

 

LIFE IS A HIGHWAY (actual)

Well, life’s like a road that you travel on

There’s one day here and the next day gone

Sometimes you bend, sometimes you stand

Sometimes you turn your back to the wind
There’s a world outside every darkened door

Where blues won’t haunt you anymore

For the brave are free and lovers soar

Come ride with me to the distant shore

We won’t hesitate to break down the guarding gate

There’s not much time left today, yeay
Life is a highway,

I wanna ride it all night long

If you’re going my way,

I wanna drive it al night long
Through all these cities and all these towns

It’s in my blood and it’s all around

I love now like I loved you then

This is the road and these are the hands

From Mozambique to those Memphis nights

The Khyber Pass to Vancouver’s lights
They knock me down

And back up again

You’re in my blood

I’m not a lonely man

There’s no load

I can’t hold

The road’s so rough this I know

I’ll be there when the light comes in

Just tell ’em we’re survivors

 

One thought on “Life is a Highway (one version)

  1. Doug Root says:

    Oh my word! Love this post! hahaha So funny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

