Park School

I have a small fear that the girls will get totally bored with the routine of homeschool so I’m trying to mix it up as much as possible with changes in subject order, break activities, surprise snacks, etc. (any and all creative ideas accepted and will be used!). One idea I had to keep things interesting was to do school in another location from time to time. This week we tried out the idea by heading to the park. The girls were excited when I told them right before we started that we were studying at Rama IX Park. Surprising them never gets old. 🙂  Although it was cloudy most of the day, fortunately it never poured rain on us…

Emerging from the hedge maze victorious (we seriously got lost so we were happy to find the other end! I told the girls it was “logic and persistence class” :))

This is not a picture of me but of the guy behind me (I’m just pretending to take a picture of myself). He was an older man, probably in his 70s,  and he hula hooped effortlessly like this the whole time the girls played on the playground without ever stopping. Wow. I’m really impressed because I can’t hula hoop for two seconds.

Scavenging

Results of scavenger hunt.

Picnic lunch (Claire is eating a rose apple) by the water, then fun feeding the fish.

Reading our schoolbooks somehow seems a lot more fun and relaxing while hanging out at the park, eating seaweed chips!

And ice cream for hot and tired girls.

Anybody have other suggestions for school days out?

-C

3 thoughts on “Park School

  1. Betsy says:

    you are so creative!
    -Betsy

  2. Delores Mast says:

    what a fun day! I remember gramps and I got totally lost in that maze and Eliza is the one who found the way out and came back to help us!

  3. justcandice says:

    Hahaha, Mom- glad it wasn’t just us! 🙂 I felt pretty stupid!

Leave a Reply

