Kindergarten, Second and Fourth

Monday was the first day of school for us! Silas was quite a trooper- up early and ready and eager to go. It seemed like such a luxury to eat breakfast as a family and have plenty of time to get Silas off to school and start our own homeschool morning- compared with the rush and stress of last year’s mornings!

Tom said he was “brave and cheerful” when they got to school.

Miss Mary Mack

So far, attitudes have been great! Thanks, girls! We’ve got a lot of ground to cover!…

Eliza’s books.

Claire’s books.

And two giant lesson plan binders. We can do it!

First day of school snack (thanks for the idea, Pinterest!)

And the school rules they wrote for themselves.

Day two uniform- he asked for another picture.

Day two creative play: doll laundry and baths- they could have played this for way more than the hour I gave them!

So far so good!

 

7 thoughts on “Kindergarten, Second and Fourth

  1. Anita says:

    Wow. Those binders put the fear of homeschooling into me! I’ll just send my kids to your homeschool. =)

  2. Those binders look soooo enticing! Mmm… and all those books for C&E!!! I am still so thankful for the time we got to really know your kids more when we were in Bangkok – they are sure SPECIAL. And that Silas – what a ham!!!! Have fun and you can always pack up the kids, bring em to me and I’ll teach them!

  3. Brittany Nisly says:

    You’re going to be a great teacher Candice! Ps I loved all of the posts from Delaware. Looks like you guys had a great time!

  4. Candice says:

    Hi B- we did have a great time in DE, as well as OH and VA! Now, it’s good to be home. And thanks for the encouragment- I’m really enjoying teaching so far.
    Michelle- I love the binders too! I’m love planning ahead, so this gives me a lot to work with! The challenge is coming up with creative projects, play, outdoor time, art, etc so that it’s not just chugging through the material. So far, we’re all really enjoying it. I would love to have lots of your input! And we want to come visit you for sure- but probably won’t just dump off the kids for school- haha.
    Anita- Atticus can join our school anytime. 🙂

  5. I love the creative play time! So fun! I’m sure you are a wonderful teacher for Claire and Eliza! Matthew and I both have enjoyed looking at your adventures stateside. Matthew really wants to visit Philadelphia so I showed him all your pictures. So fun!

  6. Bernie says:

    Wow…I just got caught up on your last DE blogs & this new one….and I MISS your kids! We didn’t get nearly enough time with them being it was wedding time, but we loved the little time we had. You have some really special memories tucked in & good pictures too. Bless you as you begin a new “adventure” of homeschooling. You are off to a great start…keep posting! We love it at our house. (: Bernie

  7. Doug Root says:

    Oh my goodness. Silas is adorable! 🙂 the homeschool looks like sooo much fun! Lots of hard work I’m sure! It was so great to see your family on home turf for a while.

Leave a Reply

