Festivities

So much Christmas fun and festiveness going on around here the last week.  Although the girls have been busy at school and only have off a few days around New Years, we’re finding evenings and weekend times to sneak in fun little activities.  The next few days will be packed with school parties, cooking and baking, a family date on the town, team Christmas party at our house, and Christmas day! The kids are so excited! Silas asks every day if he can unwrap his gifts. Claire is writing a book for my gift (can’t wait to read it!) and all kinds of mysterious preparations are underway. I have been reading “Practicing the Presence of God” by Brother Lawrence and I’ve been so impacted by experiencing God’s presence during this season.  Learning to be more aware of his presence in every moment that I can (so much less than I want to!) has been changing my perspective and I’ve been enjoying Him so much more than usual, in spite of being weak and constantly failing and being distracted.  I hope you are experiencing his presence in all your celebrations too. I am missing you, Rhodes and Mast families!

“Brown paper packages tied up with strings- these are a few of my favorite things!!”  Lucky, lucky us- we’ve been getting mail!!

Icing the sugar cookies.

Reading Christmas stories most nights. For our future reference, here are a few we read this year:

A Christmas Carol

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever

The Mitten

The Bears’ Christmas

Mr. Willowby’s Christmas Tree

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

Christmas in the Barn

The Christmas Gift/El Regalo de Navidad

Headed to the Christmas party (more pictures of the party coming soon on Learning Thai).

Some reindeer at the party.

The pile grows! Everyone is excited to give and get!

Happy Christmas week to all of you! Can’t wait to hear how you are celebrating!

Love, C

 

