I’ll Be Home for Christmas

I feel like my annual “we decorated the tree” post is always exactly the same. πŸ™‚ I like traditions a lot and we do things pretty much the same way every year. The kids put on the santa hats, everyone unpacks the ornaments and oohs and aahs. The kids decorate the tree and then I redo it after they go to bed. πŸ™‚ The girls put up the tree in their bedroom and smother it in tinsel. We drink our first hot chocolate (usually of the whole year) and eat gingerbread from molasses I’ve been hoarding for 2 years. The kids fight over who will put baby Jesus in the manger. We smile at each other and smile at the tree and do the dramatic turn off all the lights, plug in the tree moment. We all sit around and sing and feel cozy and happy and thankful. I love this official beginning of the holiday. “O come let us adore him…”

One thought on “I’ll Be Home for Christmas

  1. brittany says:

    A few things made me smile…you re-doing the tree after the kids go to bed, the fact that you hoard molasses, the kids fighting over baby Jesus, and the dramatic turn off the lights and plug in the tree moment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

