Cookiejacks

Whenever I say, “Eliza would you like to help me bake…” the answer is always a big YES and she runs for the kitchen. She is getting quite good at accurately measuring flour, breaking eggs with no shell, using the mixer and even starting to catiously use the stove and knives. I loved how she cut cucumbers for the first time with a sharp knife- cautiously keeping a mile from her fingers. No one could be safer. πŸ™‚ Lately she has been helping me with the beginnings of holiday baking from gingerbread to roasted pumpkin seeds.

When I was in America this summer, I brought back a cookbook that my parents gave me for my seventh birthday…

It brought back such vivid memories for me and was fun to share with Eliza. The first recipe she chose to make was crackerjacks.


Cookiejacks as Silas called them. πŸ™‚ As it turns out, butter and honey and peanuts are pretty delicious when mixed with popcorn. πŸ™‚ It was a good movie night snack for their fifth viewing of the Sound of Music.

One thought on “Cookiejacks

  1. Delores Mast says:

    Eliza, that pop corn looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

