Family Portraits or Who’s Shutting Their Eyes in This One?

And this is exactly the kind of boring-to-some-people post we were talking about….a million family pictures. 🙂 Trudi Kurtz  took some and I took some of them at Claire’s school last Saturday. Oh, the joy of getting five people all looking at the camera at the same time. Here are a few of our successes and failures. We’ll save a few for RMM publications so you don’t get sick of seeing us. 🙂 ….

I love Silas’s insane/mischievous look in this one. 🙂


Wiping my sweat. Romantic? Maybe not. Realistic? Very.


This is THE Silas face.


Perfect sibling harmony…hahahahahaaa


And one last blooper. Can you believe they ALL three had their eyes closed like they planned it!? 🙂

14 thoughts on “Family Portraits or Who’s Shutting Their Eyes in This One?

  1. Uncle Philip says:

    found it…and love it! thanks for letting us in on the cool inside stuff. 🙂 Silas looks like he’s actually concentrating pretty hard on keeping his eyes closed on that last one.

  2. Sylvia says:

    Yes! I love it! These blogs are just the kind of blogs I make time for these days…to keep up with family and friends. I’ll be a regular reader!
    -Sylvia

  3. Dietrich says:

    Beautiful family. Candice, how did you do your hair – looks great! Also I think silas looks like a showalter sometimes – maybe it’s that mischievous grin :).

  4. Great pictures! (I like your hair long) I’m SO thrilled to see a family blog! Thanks so much for letting me know.

  5. oh and I might just steal this layout from wordpress. 🙂 I love it!

  6. Carmen says:

    Love this blog! I will definitely check back often. I loved the informal pictures of the kids and the first and last 🙂 family ones. seeing these made me miss the five of you a lot! can’t wait to see you soon! love you, Carmen

  7. Rebekah says:

    Is Silas holding a piece of fruit or a dented ping-pong ball? I like the sweat-wiping picture/practical love shot ;). I’m excited about the new blog — esp. since that means seeing more family pictures and hearing about normal happenings of your lives. Keep lots of pics coming and lots of news about Claire, Eliza and Silas!

    • justcandice says:

      Haha- Bek- it’s a photo prop he picked up on the spot- a broken ping pong ball. 😉 Thanks, everybody. We appreciate you checking in on us! 🙂

  8. gailmarie says:

    Hi guys….beautiful pictures. Wow, your hair is long, Candice. It looks great. The kids are so cute. Gail

  9. Aunt A says:

    I love the pic of the three kids sitting in the field together facing the other direction. So cute! Perfect Sibling Harmony. =) love, Aunt A

    • Aunt A says:

      Oh, and your long hair, Candice, doesn’t make you look as young as I imagined, except from some angles, like the picture of you and Tom kissing Silas–for some reason, you look really young in that one! Overall, I like the long hair (though it seems like it would be so HOT)!

  10. Doris says:

    I’m excited about your new blog. I love seeing your pictures and hearing about your family life! The kids are so adorable and growing up so fast! Love and miss you!

  11. Eve says:

    Such cute family photos. So glad you shared them.

  12. Shannon Scheffel says:

    Love your family photos and your new blog!!

Leave a Reply

